Places to visit

Not only by the charm of the small town Kandern, also by the central location in the "Markgräflerland, one of the warmes regions of Germany, and the proximity of France and Switzerland, Kandern provides a good starting point for trips to the Alsace, Switzerland, or the Black Forest.

Wether by foot, by car or with public transport you always reach your target destination.


Excursions in the vicinity of Kandern

By foot:

The town attracts visitors with numerous walking paths, alleyways and a pedestrian friendly town center to take a walk, or have a window shopping. Also a lot of hiking trails lead close to Kandern or cruze the town as for example the  Planetenweg (trail of the planets) the August-Macke circuit the  Kulturlandweg (country culture trail) (more circuits and hiking trails are listed on Stadt Kandern )

 

 tl_files/fM_k0002/images/wandern.jpg

Kandertalbahn:

Should you be tired of hiking, but still want to enjoy a travel through the fascinating nature of the southern Black Forest, then you should change to the Train. No, not any train! Kandern is the start- and endpoint of a historical steam locomotive, so called "Kanderle". More information about the Kanderle you find on http://www.kandertalbahn.de (website in German)

Kandertalbahn

The Black Forest:

Germanies highest and bigest contiguous highland invites you to hike, bike, and in winter of course also to ski or to cross-country ski. Also some sights are located in the black forest. You can visit Germany's highest waterfalls, take a walk arround the famous "Titisee", or stay the whole day in the park with the typical Black forest houses (Vogtsbauernhöfe), and if you would like to get a souvenir from your vacation for you or your dearest, what about one of the world famous "Kukusuhr"? And when you enjoy coffee and cake (which is a very common custom for this region) try one of the REAL Black Forest cakes (Schwarzwälder Kirschtorte).

More information about the Black Forest? http://www.schwarzwald.de/en/

 

tl_files/fM_k0002/images/schwarzwald.jpg

Swimming:

In summertime as in wintertime you have the posibility to go to one of the swimming pools or SPA's arround Kandern.

Of corse, the public pool in Kandern which is outside is only opened in summer, ( Freibad Kandern ) but also in wintertime you can visit one of the following indoor pools:


Laguna Badeland
Balinea Thermen
Cassiopeia Termen
Sole uno (Switzerland)

tl_files/fM_k0002/images/schwimmbad.jpg

Cycling:

Enough walking? You are one gear more quick if you rent a bike for a day, or even the whole week:

Velo Ziped (Flyer in German)

 

tl_files/fM_k0002/images/fahrrad.jpg

Tennis:

You like to play Tennis? Also in Kandern, as in one of the near towns you can stay, after making a reservation, some hours on the Tennis court. The Tennis court in Kandern is next to the public pool. So once you're sweating you can cool down in the public pool again.

Phonenumber of the Tennis Court  in Kandern: 07626 / 6506 or 7518
Tennisclub Wollbach: http://www.tc-wollbach.de (Website in German)

 

tl_files/fM_k0002/images/tennis.jpg

Golf:

Also the golfers are not missed out in Kandern. On aproxx. 72 hectares in the outscirts of Kandern you can enjoy golfing on the 18 hole golf course. Afterwards you can enjoy a beer in the club restaurant of the golf course

More Information on: http://www.gc-mk.com/

 

tl_files/fM_k0002/images/golf.jpg

Carriage rides:

On horseback, but not riding. What about a carriage ride. Some of the surrounding farms and wineries offer a variety of trips over hill and dale.

More information on carriage rides on the Homepage of Kandern

tl_files/fM_k0002/images/kutschfahrt.jpg

Sausenburg:

Medieval flair, breathtaking views, pure nature. And all this just arround the corner. Behind our house begins the trail directly to the ruins to the castle "Sausenburg". A brisk hike of 20-30 minutes and you can enjoy the astonishing view from the castle tower (which is usually open). The castle is also a good place for having a barbecue surrounded by medival.

Sausenburg on Wikipedia

tl_files/fM_k0002/images/sausenburg.jpg

Basel:

Or perhaps you would like to visit Switzerland? Only a puddle jump and and you're in the Swiss metropole Basel. Not only the hirstoric towncenter with it's pedestrian streets, but also the cathedral invite for a visit. In Basel there are also a lot of museums which have something for everybody

More information about the city you find on: http://www.basel.ch/en/tourismus.htm

tl_files/fM_k0002/images/basel.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

Excursions in the near surrounding of Kandern

 

 

 

Freiburg:

Also the student's city Freiburg is only a little more than half an hour by car from Kandern.

Discover the old part of the city with it's narrow streets, streams and the world known Cathedral of Freiburg.

Also Freiburg you find in the internet:
Official website of Freiburg

tl_files/fM_k0002/images/freiburg.jpg

Europapark:

Just next to Freiburg is Germany`s biggest theme park. On 900.000 square meters you find everything what a coaster-heart is looking for.

More Information about the Europapark Rust:

http://www.europapark.de

tl_files/fM_k0002/images/europapark.jpg

Steinwasenpark:

Or maybe a little smaller, but with more nature and everything? In the theme park Steinwasen you find a mix of zoo and attraction park.
More information on the theme park Steinwasen: http://www.steinwasen-park.de

tl_files/fM_k0002/images/steinwasenpark.jpg

Erdmannshöhle Hasel:

To hot outside? Is it raining? No matter what's the weather outside, cool down or a dry trip you have in the "Erdmannshöle Hasel". As one of the oldest dripstone caves of Germany there is a lot to see.

More Information on: Erdmannshöhle Hasel (Website in German)

tl_files/fM_k0002/images/erdmannshoehle.jpg

Ausflugsziele

Nicht nur durch den Charme des kleinen Städtchen Kanderns, als auch durch die Zentrale Lage im Markgräflerland, eine der wärmsten Regionen in Deutschland und der nähe zu Frankreich sowie der Schweiz, bietet sich Kandern als Ausgangpunkt für Ausflüge ins Elsass die Schweiz oder den Schwarzwald an.

Ob zu Fuss, mit dem Auto oder Öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln erreichen sie stehts ihr Ziel.

Ausflugsziele in der näheren Umgebung von Kandern

Zu Fuss:

Das Städtchen lockt mit zahlreichen Wegen, gässchen, und einem Fussgänger freundlich gehaltenem Ortskern zum spazieren oder zum Schaufensterbummeln ein. Auch Zahlreiche Wanderwege führen an Kandern, oder durch Kandern duch wie zum Beispiel der Planetenweg der August-Macke Rundweg oder der Kulturlandweg (weitere Rundwege und Wandermöglichkeiten finden sie unter Stadt Kandern)

 

 tl_files/fM_k0002/images/wandern.jpg

Kandertalbahn:


Sollten Sie des Wanderns müde sein, aber trotzdem eine Reise durch die faszinierende Naturlandschaft des Südschwarzwalds unternehmen wollen, dann steigen sie doch um auf die Bahn. Nein nicht irgend eine Bahn. Kandern ist Start- und Endstation der historischen Dampflock, dem Kanderle. Weitere Informationen zur Kandertalbahn finden Sie unter http://www.kandertalbahn.de

 

Kandertalbahn

Der Schwarzwald:

Deutschlands höchstes und größtes zusammenhängende Mittelgebirge läd ein zum Wandern, radfahren, und im Winter auch zum Ski oder Langlauf. Auch einige Sehenswürdigkeiten hat der Schwarzwald zu bieten. Besuchen sie doch mal Deutschlands höchste Wasserfälle, gehen sie Spazieren um den Titisee, oder verbringen sie einen Tag auf den Vogtsbauernhöfen, und wenn sie für sich, oder Ihre lieben ein Andenken aus dem Urlaub mitbringen wollen, wie wäre es denn mit einer Schwarzwälder Kukusuhr? Und wenn sie am Nachmittag zu Kaffee und Kuchen in einem kaffee ankehren, probieren sie doch mal die richtige Schwarzwälder Kirschtorte.

Weitere Informationen unter http://www.schwarzwald.de

 

tl_files/fM_k0002/images/schwarzwald.jpg

Schwimmen:

Sommer wie auch Winter haben sie die Möglichkeit eines der Vielen Schwimm- und Thermalbäder in der Umgebung zu besuchen.

Das Örtliche Freibad hat selbstverständlich nur im Sommer offen ( Freibad Kandern ) aber auch im Winter kommt die Badelust nicht zu kurz


Laguna Badeland
Balinea Thermen
Cassiopeia Termen
Sole uno (Schweiz)

tl_files/fM_k0002/images/schwimmbad.jpg

Fahrrad fahren:

Genug zu Fuss, einen Gang schneller können sich sich fortbewegen, wenn sie sich, sei es nur für einen Tag, oder gleich für die ganze Woche ein Fahrrad mieten:

Velo Ziped

 

tl_files/fM_k0002/images/fahrrad.jpg

Tennis:

Spielen sie gerne Tennis? Auch in Kandern, sowie auch in einem nachbarort können sie, nach Voranmeldung ein paar Stunden auf dem Platz verbringen. Der Tennisplatz in Kandern befindet sich direkt neben dem Schwimmbad. Sollte Sie also das Tennispielen ins Schwitzen gebracht haben, können sich sich im Städtischen Freibad wieder abkühlen.

Telefonnummer Tennisplatz Kandern: 07626 / 6506 oder 7518
Tennisclub Wollbach: http://www.tc-wollbach.de

 

tl_files/fM_k0002/images/tennis.jpg

Golf:

Auch die Golfer kommen in Kandern nicht zu kurz. Auf ca. 72 Hektar befindet sich direkt am Stadtrand ein 18 Loch Golfplatz, der auch von Gästen gegen eine Gebühr benutzt werden darf. Das Clubeigene Restaurant lädt nach der Golf Partie danach dann noch zu eienm Bier ein. Weitere Infos unter: http://www.golfclub-markgraeflerland.com

 

tl_files/fM_k0002/images/golf.jpg

Kutschfahrten:

Hoch zu Pferd, aber doch nicht Reiten. Machen Sie doch eine Kutschfahrt. Einige der umliegenden Bauernhöfe und Winzer bieten verschiedenste Touren über Stock und Stein. Weitere Informationen dazu finden sie auf der Homepage der Stadt Kandern

tl_files/fM_k0002/images/kutschfahrt.jpg

Sausenburg:

Mittelalterflair, eine atemberaubende Aussicht, Natur pur. Und das alles in unmittelbarer Nähe. Hinter unserem Haus führt der Waldweg direkt zur Burgruine Sausenburg. Ein strammer Fussmarsch von 20-30 minuten, und schon können sie die Atemberaubende Aussicht vom begehbaren Burgturm auf dem Sausenberg geniessen. Ein Grillplatz ist ebenfalls vorhanden.

Wikipedia Eintrag zur Sausenburg

tl_files/fM_k0002/images/sausenburg.jpg

Basel:

Oder vieleicht doch in die Schweiz? Nur einen Katzensprung entfernt liegt die schweizer Metropole Basel. Nicht nur die historische Altstadt mit ihren Fussgängerzonen und dem Münster laden zu einem Besuch ein, Basel hat auch sehr viele Museen, bei denen für jeden was dabei ist.
Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der Offiziellen Seite von Basel: http://www.basel.ch/tourismus.htm

tl_files/fM_k0002/images/basel.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ausflugsziele in der Weiteren Umgebung von Kandern

 

 

 

Freiburg:

Auch das Studentenstädtchen Freiburg ist nur etwas mehr wie eine halbe Stunde von Kandern weg. Entdecken sie die Freiburger Altstadt mit ihren Gässchen, Bächlein und dem weltberühmten Freiburger Münster.
Auch Freiburg finden Sie im Internet unter:
http://www.freiburg.de

tl_files/fM_k0002/images/freiburg.jpg

Europapark:

Kurz nach Freiburg befindet sich Deutschlands grösster Freizeitpark. Im Europapark Rust findet sich auf 900.000 qm alles, was das Freizeitpark-Herz begehrt.
Weitere Informationen zum Europapark Rust: http://www.europapark.de

tl_files/fM_k0002/images/europapark.jpg

Steinwasenpark:

Oder vieleicht doch eine Nummer kleiner, aber dafür mit Natur und allem drum und dran? Im Freizeitpark Steinwasen finden Sie eine Mischung zwischen Tierpark und Attraktionspark.
Weitere Informationen zum Freizeitpark Steinwasen: http://www.steinwasen-park.de

tl_files/fM_k0002/images/steinwasenpark.jpg

Erdmannshöhle Hasel:

Draussen ist es zu heiss? Regnet es? Ganz egal welches Wetter auch draussen ist, Abkühlung, oder ein Ausflug im trockenen bietet die Erdmannshöle Hasel. Als eine der ältesten Tropfsteinhölen Deutschlands bietet sie auf 360 Metern einiges zu sehen.
Weitere Informationen zur Erdmannshöhle Hasel

tl_files/fM_k0002/images/erdmannshoehle.jpg